Tuesday, August 25, 2009

WORLD of WARCRAFT: Cataclysm

WORLD of WARCRAFT: Cataclysm, Death Wing
World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (following Wrath of the Lich King) - the 3rd expansion set for the massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) World of Warcraft. It was announced at BlizzCon 2009 on August 21, 2009, even though details leaked earlier. It adds a substantial amount of content to the game world, including two new races (Goblins for the Horde, Worgen for the Alliance), new race/class combinations, entirely redesigned zones, flying mounts in Azeroth and guild leveling and achievements. It also raises the level cap to 85.

From World of Warcraft: Cataclysm FAQ on the official website

"While the attention of the Horde and Alliance remained fixed upon Northrend, an ancient evil has been lying dormant within Deepholm, the domain of earth in the Elemental Plane. Hidden away in a secluded sanctuary, the corrupted Dragon Aspect Deathwing has waited, recovering from the wounds of his last battle against Azeroth, nursing his hatred for the inferior creatures that infest the surface realm...and biding his time until he can reforge the world in molten fire. Soon, Deathwing the Destroyer will return to Azeroth, and his eruption from Deepholm will sunder the world, leaving a festering wound across the continents. As the Horde and Alliance race to the epicenter of the cataclysm, the kingdoms of Azeroth will witness seismic shifts in power, the kindling of a war of the elements, and the emergence of unlikely heroes who will rise up to protect their scarred and broken world from utter devastation. The face of Azeroth is altered forever as the destruction left in Deathwing's wake reshapes the land and reveals secrets long sealed away. Players will be able to re-experience familiar zones across Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms, rewrought by the cataclysm and filled with new opportunities for adventure."

WORLD of WARCRAFT: Cataclysm Trailer:

Saturday, August 1, 2009

StarCraft 2

StarCraft II
StarCraft returns in the long awaited sequel, Starcraft II. In addition to impressive graphics, this real time strategy game sports new units as well as devastating super weapons. Gamers will enjoy a story-driven single player campaign as well as an engaging multiplayer mode, where they'll battle opponents in fast-paced and competitive skirmishes. StarCraft II, originally envisioned as a single game, was announced to be a trilogy at BlizzCon 2008, consisting of the base game and two subsequent expansion sets, entitled Wings of Liberty, Heart of the Swarm and Legacy of the Void respectively.

StarCraft II is being developed for concurrent release on Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X. The president of Blizzard Entertainment - Mike Morhaime, predicts the game will be released at the end of 2009, although a specific release date has not yet been given. The release date is subject to change based upon the game meeting the company’s quality standards.

via gamedaily and wiki